Old staff, new staff

Having been an old staff and then being a new staff is an overwhelming experience. Of course, not to mention the culture shock that came from the new place after being so accustomed with the BC culture. Initial feelings of being out-of-place and being an outcast is no fun.

I could understand what my existing colleagues are going through now – although they may think that this new colleague of theirs would just comply with the management’s unreasonable ‘edicts’. Restructuring and cost-cutting are nothing new to me – its just that I have moved from being the disgruntled ‘old’ employee to the complying ‘new’ one.

One thing I have learnt  – there is nothing anyone could do if the management wants change. No matter how unfair the rules are, how they are shoved down our throats, its a take it or leave it thing. Old staff may grumble and protest, but even if you don’t like it, you still have to comply until you found a new job and move on.

Then, you become the newcomer, who follow rules and accept whatever that is pre-existing in the company. On the way, you meet some demotivated and disgruntled ‘old’ employees who fight endlessly for their rights which were taken away from them.

If you are lucky, you still get accepted by them. If not, you’d be branded as the one who doesn’t stand together with them. Being a newcomer made me understand how a newcomer in BC felt. Being an old staff in BC made me understand how my existing colleagues felt.

And, being in two situations made me understand how reality in the corporate world is.

Companies, I have learnt, live on forever. At least when they don’t go bankrupt. They are expected, in the eyes of law, to exist perpetually. But companies are run by humans and humans don’t live forever. People come and go; toiling to build the business of these companies. It’s surprising to see that companies still would go on even if an employee leaves. He/she could easily be replaced by another who will ensure the smooth running of the business. Of course, this does not apply if one corporate figure actually brings the company down with actions like the misuse of funds or bad investments.

All one company would do is just ‘replace’ their staff to rid of HR problems.

This is, I realise, is a sad, sad, cycle. Not sure if there are any companies out there which are exceptional, but even if there are, many would be scrambling to get a job there.

You arrive at a new place wide-eyed with high expectations, only to be disappointed with the whole structure years later. Become a ‘old-timer’ who is demotivated, resign and then starts a new with another company.

I know its just a matter of time when I get demotivated. As for now, I am still the wide-eyed employee with high expectations and a burning desire to learn. But when I look at my existing colleagues, they reflect me when I was in BC.

I just wonder if this will ever end.

This entry was posted in Work.

Leave a Reply

