Four Points Sheraton Kuching

I went to Kuching for a school exhibition and had the chance to stay overnight at the spanking new Four Points Hotel. They are under the Sheraton Group and of course, I don’t expect them to be a run-down hotel. They are just a very short drive away from the airport (less than 5 minutes) and looks impressive from the outside.

Check-in was quick. Real quick, in fact. But then again, I am not sure if this was due to the fact that my room was pre-booked by a travel agent who has apparently paid up and a Starwood Member. And as I walked into the room, a welcome message with the guest name was already on the flat screen. (My colleague was supposed to be on this trip and the room was booked under her name. There wasn’t any need to change the guest name, so, that’s why the name on the flat screen isn’t mine)

Their beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy and I kinda felt sad since I am only spending one night here. Wifi is not included in the room charges and since I had to pay, I didn’t make use of it. Since there wasn’t much to do or anywhere to go, I tried checking out their brochures to see if they had a spa which I can make use of. Unfortunately, nothing was listed.

I didn’t make much use of their writing table this time, so am unable to comment whether it is good enough for use. However, selection of channels in the room weren’t too bad and they even have Playhouse Disney (as opposed to Disney Channel, I don’t know why)

My bathroom came with both a bathtub and shower cubicle. They have a rainforest shower head but yet again, I failed to get it to work. I was too lazy to ask the housekeeping staff since I’m only staying there for one night. Their complimentary toiletries were the minimum – I expected them to be something like what Le Meridien has to offer.

There are a row of shops just outside the hotel but I didn’t really notice a place where you can eat. Since I was alone, I decided to eat at the hotel’s coffee house instead. I didn’t bother calling for room service because their menu wasn’t too appealing.

I went for their dinner buffet which was not too bad. There were quite a wide selection of fusion food, including fresh oysters, mussels, prawns and crabs. Their crabs were not quite fresh, though. There were also satay, noodles, pasta and some other stir-fried dishes. For only RM55, I would say it’s quite worth the price.

Of course, compared to other hotels in Kuching, Four Points is something that travellers would appreciate. The others are quite run-down and unless they refurbish, they are going to lose out to competition. Not forgetting also that there’s is another new one, Pullman, which is located nearer to town.

Perhaps there would be an opportunity for me to try Pullman one day.

 

Leave a Reply

