Buka puasa at KLCC

The signage

The KL Convention Centre, that is.

We were invited by their sales staff to try out their ‘Buka Puasa’ spread and since our 2 bosses were out of the country, we went as their representatives instead.

We had initialy thought that it would be the same as all other hotels, the usual Malay-kampung fare, but we were wrong! Their spread – well, it’s not exactly a ‘spread’ actually, there were little ‘stalls’ scattered around the hall cooking and serving food – was unbelievable.

And, if you think its going to cost a bomb, it doesn’t! The usual price for the buffet is RM85++ per person and if you are a CIMB cardholder, you get a further 20% discount. For this price, I tell you, their buffet is worth every bit of your money.

We arrived just in time for buka puasa (Maghrib prayers to start) and was seated next to the stage. Walking around the stalls (think Marche) the very first time, I caught sight of some of my favourites – seafood, satay, tandoori, chicken. Others include the usual bubur lambuk, sayur masak lemak, ayam percik, etc.

Let’s look at some self explanatory photos:

Wrong name. Lol

Ketupat

Ketupat

The stage

The stage

Food stalls

Food stalls

More stalls

More stalls

I know the photos look a bit blurrish – that is because the whole hall (Hall 5) was so smoky. Mind you, the cooking is done in the Hall itself, not in one unseen kitchen and then brought out and left cold. You can say that what you eat is quite fresh. Having said that, as we go around getting food, we see KLCC staff helping themselves, too. At one point, I overheard one who was manning one of the stall ask another who was helping herself to the food – ‘Why so late today?’ and it made me wonder – ‘They actually come and eat here everyday? Gosh, how fat will they be then after one month?’ – Okay la, both of them are Chinese, so, I presume takde puasa.

Dates which we didn't try

Dates which we didn

Prawns, mussels and chicken

Prawns, mussels and chicken

Satay, mushrooms and more prawn

Satay, mushrooms and more prawn

Desserts on the spread

Desserts on the spread

Desserts on my plate

Desserts on my plate

Performance on stage

Performance on stage

Sugar sculpture

Sugar sculpture

Ah, well, after 1.5 hours, my colleague and I went home with an extremely full stomach. Only thing ws, they didn’t serve coffee and teas after that like what the hotels did. Okay, I am not sure if they really did but it’s just that we didn’t see them, but never mind. However, as I was walking out of the hall, I saw that they have, in a little corner, teh tarik halia. Darn, should’ve tried it since I have always wanted to try teh halia but too hesitant to order and pay if I don’t like it.

I shall end this with a cheeky photo of mine:

A date with a banana

My date with a banana

Leave a Reply

