Published author?

I wonder if I can start calling myself that. I still do not have much confidence in showing my writings to everyone actually, despite being told that no single writer is good enough and that I should be more confident. Anyway, I know that I’ve been holding this piece of news to myself for quite some time already. Some of you readers might have known it, but what the heck, I will officially announce it.

I submitted two pieces of my short stories to another local author – who planned to publish an anthology of short stories by M’sian writers – and they are taken!

Yay! I received this news sometime back in February and no kidding, was elated! I, however, had to do a lot of editing and rewriting. Maklumlah, newbie! I have descended from cloud nine now. In fact, I didn’t even have the time to immerse myself in joy due to the March workload.

Anyway, if you are wondering, I won’t be getting paid huge royalty sums or be photographed or what not. But I am happy. Yes, just seeing my work in print. I also know that I might be getting good reviews (hopefully) or unfavourable critics (fingers crossed) but that’s how tough and established writers are made of. Through this, I have also learnt a lot on the mistakes I made, how I could rephrase my sentences to make them more readable (and interesting) and the plotting of a story.

Wish me all the best, and when it does come out, I’d gladly show it to everyone. Or maybe, you guys can go and buy that book.

This entry was posted in Writing.

Leave a Reply

